Events Archive

Events Archive
See the previous events that were hosted by or in collaboration with the Emancipatory Sciences Lab.

Black Men's Brain Health Conference

Hosted by the Robert W. Turner Lab in collaboration with the USC Suzanne-Dworak-Peck School of Social Work, National Institute on Aging, Alzheimer's Association, NFL Alumni, and Berkeley Social Welfare

February 9-10, 2022 in Los Angeles, CA or via Zoom

The Black Men’s Brain Health (BMBH) Conference during Super Bowl week aims to convene scientists and community leaders to increase the representation of Black men in brain science research and to reduce brain health disparities among Black men. A key aim of this first-ever conference series is to cultivate a culturally competent workforce committed to addressing Black men’s brain health, cognitive aging, and Alzheimer’s Disease/Alzheimer’s Disease and Related Dementia (AD/ADRD) research. This research fellowship program is a signature component of this Conference.


Film Discussion - Talking Matewan: Social Psychoanalytic Takes on Appalachia and Solidarity

Facilitated by Nicholas B. DiCarlo with Discussant Dr. Lara Sheehi

December 3, 2021 at 5-6:30 PM Pacific / 7-8:30 PM Central / 8-9:30 PM Eastern Time

The film Matewan (Sayles, 1987) depicts the real life struggle of miners organizing in 1920s Mingo County, West Virginia. Our discussion will explore the film's implications for racialized subjectivities, narcissistic injuries and exploitation ("mining shame"), and the politics of portrayal. Key questions will focus on the political economies of extraction: how delusions of ownership and superiority are fascistic fuel and fodder, how intergenerational traumas impede resistance movements, and how we see coal extraction in the midst of climate apocalypse.